top of page
  • Writer's pictureTuğrul DÖLEN

A Novel Experience: Writing a Wiki Entry

Updated: Nov 30, 2022

Hello again, folks! I have been absent for some time because I had midterm exams until yesterday. Hope you're doing well.


Today, I want to share my experience in writing a wiki entry about a movie that I and my wonderful peer Sude Filiz created collaboratively. The name of the movie is Dead Poets Society and I can hear the reactions of "ahh, I know that great movie!" for sure. Here is our Wiki page overview.








Firstly, the task that we were assigned by our instructor was about writing a wiki entry about a movie we had watched already or would watch. After watching, we were supposed to introduce the movie by highlighting its background elements such as the director of it, the outstanding stars of the movie, and basic settings like time and place, etc.




And then, we were supposed to give a brief summary of the movie without giving a spoiler :) This is one of many things an audience hates.





Finally, we were to choose two or three aspects of the movie such as actors, structure, music, costumes, etc. The wiki entry was supposed to be around 400-word length as well.


To be honest, we worked together online and wrote drafts on a mutual Word document to reflect on the process of writing effectively. We first shared our responsibilities for each paragraph and did research about the shared ones alone. After writing, we commented on our writing styles and what to do to enhance the paragraphs' quality. We found some pictures from the movie to support the wiki entry and checked whether they are suitable for the context or not. Lastly, we proofread it and uploaded it to the website PBworks.


In my opinion, Wiki entry absolutely supports collaborative learning and working both face-to-face and online. It also helps us reflect on the content we are supposed to write about both alone and with our peers mutually.


Well, that's all I can say for now, folks! You can also check my peer's blog via the address below. Take care and stay safe!



bottom of page